Barriers drawn for the world's richest mile race

The barrier draw for The All-Star Mile was conducted at Flemington this morning (12 March), with Godolphin’s star mare Alizee assigned barrier 12 for the inaugural running of the $5 million contest on Saturday.

Alizee, who will be ridden by Winx’s regular jockey Hugh Bowman, has been a commanding favourite with most bookmakers since winning the Group 1 Yulong Futurity Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield last month.

The four-year-old mare will come into barrier 10 if three of the emergency runners – Trap For Fools (barrier 11), Hellova Street (barrier seven), and Le Romain (barrier one) – do not make the final field for the world’s richest mile race.

Alizee’s Group 1-winning stablemate Hartnell, who will be ridden by champion British jockey William Buick, was assigned barrier two whilst All-Star Mile Ambassador Joel Selwood, captain of the Geelong Cats, drew barrier 16 for emerging Tasmanian star Mystic Journey, the recent winner of the Group 1 Australian Guineas (1600m) at Flemington.

“We are delighted with the way both Alizee and Hartnell are coming into the race,” said Godolphin Australia head trainer, James Cummings.

“I have no issue with the barrier draw for Alizee. She's drawn a little bit outside of the middle, but she’s more than capable of overcoming that. We’re just excited to be a part of the day, we’ve been very supportive and excited about The All-Star Mile from the start, so to get two of our three nominated horses into the race is a great result for the stable.”

Many of the fancied runners also drew wide barriers at the draw, which was hosted by Channel 7 presenter Jason Richardson and attended by All-Star Mile Ambassadors Olivia Molly Rogers (who drew barrier three for her fellow South Australian, Balf’s Choice) and actress Olympia Valance.

Pat Webster’s multiple Group 1 winner Happy Clapper is set to jump from stall nine (or seven if the emergency runners miss out), whilst Mick Price’s Flemington specialist Grunt drew 15.

Lindsay Park’s three-year-old filly Amphitrite drew stall 14 – although she too will shift in four places if the emergencies do not make the field – whilst her stablemate Hawkshot, one of four wildcard runners in the field, drew perfectly in barrier four.

The field for the 2019 All-Star Mile, to be run at 5.10pm (AEST) on Saturday, 16 March, is as follows:

  1. Happy Clapper (Barrier 9, 59kg, T: Pat Webster, J: Blake Shinn)
  2. Hartnell (2, 59kg, T: James Cummings, J: William Buick)
  3. Material Man (10, 59kg, T: Justin Warwick, J: Lucy Warwick)
  4. Grunt (15, 59kg, T: Mick Price, J: Damien Oliver)
  5. Moss ‘n’ Dale (6, 59kg, T: Peter Gelagotis, J: Jack Martin (a))
  6. Foundry (17, 59kg, T: Terry Kelly, J: John Allen)
  7. Man of His Word (18, 59kg, T: Dean Krongold, J: Damien Thornton)
  8. Balf’s Choice (3, 59kg, T: Ryan Balfour, J: Simon Price)
  9. Mr Money Bags (5, 59kg, T: Robbie Griffiths, J: Ben Melham)
  10. Urban Ruler (8, 59kg, T: Chris Munce, J: Jamie Mott)
  11. Alizee (12, 57kg, T: James Cummings, J: Hugh Bowman)
  12. Hawkshot (4, 56kg, T: David & Ben Hayes & Tom Dabernig; J: Mark Zahra)
  13. Mystic Journey (16, 54kg, T: Adam Trinder, J: Anthony Darmanin)
  14. Amphitrite (14, 54kg, T: David & Ben Hayes & Tom Dabernig; J: Craig Williams)
  15. Le Romain [1st Emergency] (1, 59kg, T: Kris Lees)
  16. Trap For Fools [2nd Emergency] (11, 59kg, T: Jarrod McLean)
  17. Hellova Street [3rd Emergency] (7, 59kg, T: Scott Brunton)
  18. He or She [4th Emergency] (13, 59kg, T: Mick & Luke Cerchi)
To find out more about the All-Star Mile raceday, click here.